Finnish Chamber Opera / Helsinki Festival

Viisi naista kappelissa 2012

(Five women in a chapel)

Viisi naista kappelissa is the first opera of Uljas Pulkkis, one of the leading composers of the new generation in Finland. The opera is based on Arto Seppälä’s comedy, where a middle-aged business man, before taking his own life, has sent out invitations to the five women that had been closest to him. They are to be the persons present at his funeral held in a small chapel…World premiere was on the 1:st of September 2012.

Composer: Uljas Pulkkis
Libretto: Erik Söderblom

Set design: Sampo Pyhälä
Costume design: Marja Uusitalo
Light design: Jani-Matti Salo

Musical direction: John Storgårds

Lahja Sirén: Hedvig Paulig
Marja Niiranen: Eeva-Maria Kopp
Maija Räsänen: Virpi Räisänen
Sirkka Räsänen: Riikka Rantanen
Salme Räsänen: Eeva-Kaarina Vilke

Lapland Chamber Orchestra